IRSST - Institut de recherche Robert-Sauvé en santé et en sécurité du travail

Last updated on June 7, 2016
The IRSST is committed to safeguarding your personal information (as the term is defined herein) in connection with your use of the www.irsst.qc.ca Web site (the “Site”). This Privacy Policy (the “Policy”) explains how the IRSST collects, uses, discloses, retains and safeguards your personal information in connection with your use of the Site. For purposes of clarity, the Policy applies solely to this Site and not to other sites or services that may be provided by the IRSST, online or otherwise. By accessing the Site, you accept this Policy in its entirety.

Consent

By providing personal information to the IRSST via its Site, you expressly consent to our collection, use and disclosure of such information in accordance with the terms and conditions of this Policy. If you provide personal information concerning a third party, the IRSST will consider that this third party has implicitly consented to this disclosure, and you are responsible for ensuring that such is the case.

Subject to legal and contractual requirements and with reasonable notice, you may at any time withdraw your consent to the IRSST’s collection, use and disclosure of your personal information by writing to the Communications and Knowledge Transfer Division by e-mail at [email protected],. However, the withdrawal of such consent may limit the IRSST’s capacity to offer you certain services on the Site. In addition, notwithstanding the withdrawal of such consent, the IRSST may collect, use or disclose your personal information where permitted or required by law.

Collection of Personal Information

We will ask you for information when we need data for purposes of personal identification (“Personal Information”) or to contact you. The Personal Information we collect may include your name, job, name of your company or organization, your business e-mail address, business telephone number, business or personal mailing address, information about your job or company, and your credit card information.

The types of Personal Information collected by the IRSST depend on several factors and the context. The IRSST only collects the Personal Information needed to carry out its activities and for certain specific purposes. For example, your Personal Information may be required when we provide a service or carry out a transaction you have requested, such as registering for an event, ordering newsletters by e-mail, accessing a tool on the Site, or obtaining or consulting publications.

Certain services on our Site offer individuals the possibility of publicly posting certain Personal Information as, for example, when individuals wish to publish their contact information as part of the services they offer. Participation in such services remains optional at all times. To prevent your Personal Information from being retrieved or misused by others, we recommend that you exercise caution when it comes to sharing your Personal Information in discussion forums or blogs on the Site. To the fullest extent permitted by the applicable laws, under no circumstances may the IRSST be held liable for any damages arising out of your disclosure of Personal Information in discussion forums or blogs on the Site.

Use and Disclosure of Personal Information

The Personal Information collected on this Site is used as part of the operation of the Site and to help us provide you with the service or complete the transaction you have requested or authorized. We also use your Personal Information to improve the Site and any services offered on the Site, and to facilitate your browsing experience by saving you from having to enter the same information repeatedly. We may also use your Personal Information to send you important information about the Site services you use, including, without limitation, your use of Publications.

The IRSST undertakes not to make publicly available, sell, rent or disclose your Personal Information to anyone, except as permitted by this Policy. The IRSST will only disclose Personal Information to third parties in the following cases:

  • you have expressly authorized the IRSST to communicate your Personal Information for a specific purpose;
  • the IRSST is obliged to provide Personal Information in response to an order rendered in due form by a court, a summons to produce documents, an investigation by authorities, or when otherwise required to do so by law;
  • the IRSST reserves the right to inform law enforcement authorities of any activity that the IRSST believes, in good faith, to be unlawful;
  • the IRSST may disclose certain Personal Information when it believes such disclosure necessary to protect the rights, goods and security of third parties as well as those of the IRSST, or to ensure that you meet your obligations with respect to the IRSST;
  • the IRSST may supply Personal Information to third parties that act on behalf of the IRSST or in collaboration with the IRSST, as agents, partners or suppliers of services (collectively, the “Suppliers”), in particular, as regards the hosting of microsites, technical support, data storage or other, and the Personal Information is supplied to them solely for the purpose of assisting the IRSST in providing said services. It is understood that these third parties must comply with strict contractual obligations that require them to maintain the confidentiality of all Personal Information and to use this information solely for purposes relating to the provision of the services in question.

The Personal Information collected on the Site may be stored and used in Canada or elsewhere in the world, and may be stored or used from servers maintained by the IRSST or third parties, or through cloud-based external information services, as the case may be, for all purposes referred to herein. By using the Site, you agree to all the transfers of your Personal Information required to give effect to the foregoing.

Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary in this Policy, to the fullest extent permitted by the applicable laws, you hereby indemnify, defend and hold the IRSST harmless against any and all liabilities relating to use of your Personal Information by the Suppliers of the IRSST, including, without limitation, as part of the services offered jointly by the IRSST and a supplier on the Site.

Retention of Personal Information

The IRSST retains the Personal Information it collects for as long as necessary to conduct its activities or fulfill identified purposes that gave rise to the collection, and in all cases, for as long as it is reasonable to do so for legal or commercial purposes. The retention period depends on the IRSST service in question and the nature of the Personal Information. Upon expiry of this period, the Personal Information is destroyed, erased or made anonymous.

Access to Personal Information

The IRSST ensures that Personal Information is as accurate, complete and up-to-date as possible for the purposes for which it is used. It is your responsibility, however, to ensure that you update your Personal Information, such as your contact information, at the IRSST.

You may access your Personal Information in order to consult, update, rectify or delete it by communicating in writing with the Communications and Knowledge Transfer Division at the following e-mail address: [email protected].
Any such request must include sufficient details to permit the IRSST to process the request. The IRSST undertakes to act upon such requests within a reasonable time, on the understanding that the IRSST must first verify the identity of the person making such a request.

The IRSST may deny, in writing, access to or modification of the Personal Information of any person for serious reasons, such as the prohibitive cost of cost of providing the information, the fact that the Personal Information contains information pertaining to other individuals, the existence of legal, security, or commercial proprietary reasons, and the fact that the Personal Information is subject to solicitor-client or litigation privilege.
The IRSST reserves the right to charge fees for the transcription, reproduction or transmission of Personal Information, subject to giving you prior notice.

Security of Personal Information

Subject to the cases of disclosure provided for in this Policy, only authorized personnel of the IRSST have access to your Personal Information. These employees are informed by the IRSST of their obligation to maintain the confidentiality of this Personal Information. The IRSST employees who have access to Personal Information may only use this information in accordance with the principles set forth in this Policy and with the applicable statutes and regulations.
The IRSST takes all commercially reasonable technical, contractual, administrative and physical measures to rigorously safeguard your Personal Information. Although it is impossible to guarantee infallible protection, the IRSST uses various technologies and security procedures to safeguard your Personal Information and prevent this information from being consulted, used or disclosed without your consent. For example, we make every effort to store Personal Information on servers (whether maintained by the IRSST or by our Suppliers) to which there is limited access and that are located in controlled facilities. In addition, when we transmit sensitive confidential information via the Internet (a credit card number, for example), we try to do so using an encryption system or other technical means for encrypting this information.

Information on Site Usage

The Site may also collect information about your visit, including the name of your Internet service provider and the IP address used to access the Internet, the date and time you access the Site, the pages you view on the Site, and the URL of the Web site from which you linked to our Site. This information is used to analyze trends and improve the Web site. You hereby authorize us to share these statistics and information with third parties subject to compliance with the other provisions of this Policy concerning the disclosure of Personal Information.

You hereby consent to the use of cookies on this Site. A cookie is a small text file placed on your hard drive by a Web page server. It cannot be used to execute programs or to infect your computer with viruses. Cookies are assigned to you exclusively and can be read solely by the Web servers belonging to the domain that issued you the cookie.

One of the main practical purposes of cookies is to save you time. For example, if you are browsing the Site, the cookie will help the Site recall your specific information on your subsequent visits. In particular, this streamlines the content delivery process and site navigation. When you visit the site again, the information you provided previously will be reused to give you easier access to the Site features.

You may accept or refuse cookies. Most Web browsers accept cookies automatically (and you agree that such acceptance will have the same effect as if you had accepted the cookies yourself), but you may modify your browser settings to deny them access to your computer if you wish. If you opt to refuse cookies, you may not be able to use all of the features of the Site or of other Web sites you visit.

We may also use web beacons to help install the cookie. Web beacons do not access Personal Information. They collect only a limited set of data, in particular, a cookie number, and the time and data on which the page was displayed, and a description of the page on which the web beacon is placed. The Site may also include web beacons placed by Suppliers of the IRSST to help the IRSST assess and analyze the efficiency of the Site’s various features.

To the fullest extent permitted by the applicable laws, you hereby indemnify, defend and hold the IRSST harmless against any and all liabilities relating to the presence and use of cookies, web beacons and any other digital markers on the Site.

Changes to the Policy

We update this Policy from time to time. In this case, we also correct the “last updated” date indicated at the top of the Policy. We recommend that you consult this Policy periodically to stay informed about the ways in which we help protect the Personal Information we collect from you. Your continued use of our Site constitutes your acceptance of this Policy and its updates.

Contact

We welcome your comments or questions about this Policy. If you believe that our Site has not respected the terms and conditions of this Policy, please contact us by e-mail at [email protected] or by regular mail at the address indicated in the Terms of Use of the Site, and we will use all reasonable means to promptly identify and rectify the problem.

IRSST - Institut de recherche Robert-Sauvé en santé et en sécurité du travail

Déclaration de confidentialité sur le site 

Date de dernière mise à jour: 7 juin 2016
L’IRSST est déterminé à protéger vos renseignements personnels (tel que ce terme est défini aux présentes) en lien avec votre utilisation du site. La présente déclaration de confidentialité (la « Politique ») explique comment l’IRSST recueille, utilise, communique, conserve et protège vos renseignements personnels en lien avec votre utilisation du site. Pour fins de clarté, la politique s’applique uniquement au site et non à d’autres sites ou services pouvant être fournis par l’IRSST, en ligne ou non. En accédant au site, vous acceptez la présente politique dans son intégralité.

Consentement

Le fait de fournir un renseignement personnel à l’IRSST par l’entremise du site constitue un consentement de votre part à ce que l’IRSST le recueille, l’utilise et le communique conformément aux modalités de la présente politique. Si vous fournissez des renseignements personnels au sujet de tiers, l’IRSST considère que ce tiers y a consenti et il est de votre responsabilité de vous en assurer.

Sous réserve d’exigences juridiques ou contractuelles, vous pouvez retirer en tout temps votre consentement à la collecte, l’utilisation ou la communication de vos renseignements personnels en écrivant à la Direction des communications et de la valorisation de la recherche à l’adresse de messagerie suivante : [email protected] moyennant un préavis raisonnable. Par contre, le retrait d’un tel consentement pourrait limiter la capacité pour l’IRSST de vous offrir certains services sur le site. De plus, même en cas du retrait d’un tel consentement, en vertu de la loi, l’IRSST peut néanmoins avoir le droit ou l’obligation de maintenir la conservation, l’utilisation ou la communication de vos renseignements personnels.

Collecte de renseignements personnels

Nous vous demanderons des informations lorsque nous aurons besoin de données permettant de vous identifier personnellement (les « renseignements personnels ») ou dans le but de vous contacter. Les renseignements personnels que nous recueillons peuvent comprendre votre nom, votre fonction, le nom de votre entreprise ou de votre organisation, votre adresse de messagerie professionnelle, votre numéro de téléphone professionnel, votre adresse postale professionnelle ou personnelle, des informations sur votre fonction ou sur votre entreprise et des informations sur votre carte de crédit.

Les types de renseignements personnels recueillis par l’IRSST dépendent de plusieurs facteurs et du contexte. L’IRSST ne recueille que les renseignements personnels nécessaires pour la conduite de ses activités et pour la réalisation de certaines fins déterminées. À titre d’exemple, vos renseignements personnels peuvent être nécessaires lorsque nous vous fournissons un service ou réalisons une transaction dont vous avez fait la demande, comme l’inscription à un évènement, la commande de bulletins d’information par courrier électronique, l’accès à un outil sur le site, l’obtention ou la consultation de publications.

Certains services sur notre site offrent aux particuliers la possibilité d’afficher publiquement certains renseignements personnels, par exemple, un individu qui souhaite publier ses coordonnées dans le cadre des services qu’il ou elle propose. La participation à de tels services est toujours facultative. Afin d’éviter que vos renseignements personnels ne soient récupérés et mal utilisés par d’autres, nous vous recommandons d’être prudent quant à la diffusion de vos renseignements personnels dans des forums de discussion ou des blogues sur le site. Dans la mesure maximale permise par les lois applicables, en aucun cas l’IRSST ne saurait être tenu responsable de quelque dommage découlant de votre divulgation de renseignements personnels dans des forums de discussion ou des blogues sur le site.

Utilisation et partage de renseignements personnels

Les renseignements personnels recueillis sur ce site sont utilisés pour le fonctionnement du site et pour nous permettre de vous fournir le service ou de mener à bien la transaction que vous avez demandée ou autorisée. Nous utilisons vos renseignements personnels dans le but d’améliorer le  site et tout service du  site et pour faciliter la navigation du  site en vous évitant d’entrer plusieurs fois les mêmes informations. Nous pouvons aussi utiliser vos renseignements personnels pour vous faire parvenir des informations importantes sur les services du site que vous utilisez, y compris, sans s’y limiter, votre utilisation des publications.

L’IRSST s’engage à ne pas rendre publics, vendre, louer ou partager vos renseignements personnels à quiconque, sauf dans la mesure permise dans la présente politique. L’IRSST ne communiquera des renseignements personnels à des tiers que dans les cas suivants :

  • vous nous avez expressément autorisés à communiquer les renseignements personnels fournis à une fin précise;
  • l’IRSST est tenu de fournir des renseignements personnels en réponse à une ordonnance rendue en bonne et due forme par un tribunal, à une assignation à produire des documents, à une enquête des autorités, ou lorsque cela est exigé autrement par la loi;
  • l’IRSST peut signaler aux autorités d’application de la loi toute activité que l’IRSST croit, de bonne foi, être illégale;
  • l’IRSST peut communiquer des renseignements personnels lorsque l’IRSST estime une telle communication raisonnablement nécessaire afin de protéger les droits, les biens et la sécurité de tiers ainsi que ceux de l’IRSST ou encore pour assurer le respect de vos obligations à l’égard de l’IRSST;
  • l’IRSST peut communiquer des renseignements personnels aux tiers qui agissent pour le compte de l’IRSST ou en collaboration avec l’IRSST, à titre de mandataires, partenaires ou de fournisseurs de service (collectivement, les « Fournisseurs »), notamment en matière d’hébergement de micro sites, de soutien technique, de stockage de données ou autre, et les renseignements personnels leur sont communiqués uniquement dans le but d’assister l’IRSST dans la fourniture desdits services, étant entendu que ces tiers doivent respecter des conditions contractuelles strictes qui les obligent à maintenir la confidentialité de tous les renseignements personnels et à ne les utiliser qu’aux fins liées à la fourniture des services en question.

Les renseignements personnels recueillis sur le  site peuvent être stockés et utilisés au Canada ou ailleurs dans le monde, et peuvent être stockés ou utilisés à partir de serveurs maintenus par l’IRSST ou par des tiers ou encore, par l’entremise de services externes d’information en nuage, selon le cas, le tout pour les fins prévues aux présentes. En utilisant le  site, vous consentez à tous les transferts de vos renseignements personnels requis afin de donner effet à ce qui précède.

Nonobstant toute disposition contraire prévue dans la présente politique, dans la mesure maximale permise par les lois applicables, vous dégagez l’IRSST de toute responsabilité en lien avec l’utilisation des renseignements personnels par les fournisseurs de l’IRSST, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, dans le cadre de services offerts conjointement par l’IRSST et un fournisseur sur le site.

Conservation de renseignements personnels

L’IRSST conserve les renseignements personnels qu’il recueille aussi longtemps que cela s’avère nécessaire pour la conduite de ses activités et pour la réalisation des fins déterminées ayant donné lieu à la collecte et, dans tous les cas, tant qu’il est raisonnable de le faire à des fins juridiques ou à des fins commerciales. La durée de conservation dépend du service de l’IRSST visé et de la nature des renseignements personnels. À l’expiration de cette période, les renseignements personnels sont détruits, effacés ou dépersonnalisés.

Accès aux renseignements personnels

L’IRSST veille à ce que les renseignements personnels soient aussi exacts, complets et à jour que possible pour les fins auxquelles ils sont utilisés. Il est toutefois de votre responsabilité de vous assurer de mettre à jour vos renseignements personnels, tels que vos coordonnées, auprès de l’IRSST.

Vous pouvez avoir accès à vos renseignements personnels afin de les consulter, les mettre à jour ou les effacer en communiquant par écrit avec la Direction des communications et de la valorisation de la recherche à l’adresse de messagerie suivante : [email protected].

Toute demande en ce sens doit comporter suffisamment de précisions pour que l’IRSST puisse la traiter. L’IRSST s’engage à donner suite à de telles demandes dans un délai raisonnable, étant entendu que l’IRSST devra d’abord vérifier l’identité de la personne faisant une telle demande.

L’IRSST peut refuser par écrit un accès aux renseignements personnels de toute personne ou leur modification pour des motifs sérieux, tels que le coût exorbitant de la fourniture de l’information, le fait que les renseignements personnels contiennent des renseignements sur d’autres personnes, l’existence de raisons d’ordre juridique, de raisons de sécurité ou de raisons d’ordre commercial exclusives et le fait que les renseignements personnels soient protégés par le secret professionnel ou dans le cours d’une procédure de nature judiciaire.

L’IRSST se réserve le droit d’exiger des frais pour la transcription, la reproduction ou la transmission des renseignements personnels, sous réserve de vous en aviser au préalable.

Sécurité des renseignements personnels

Sous réserve des cas de divulgation prévus dans la présente politique, seul le personnel autorisé de l’IRSST a accès à vos renseignements personnels. Ces employés sont informés par l’IRSST de leur obligation de préserver la confidentialité de ces renseignements personnels. Les employés de l’IRSST qui ont accès aux renseignements personnels ne peuvent les utiliser que conformément aux principes énoncés dans la présente politique ainsi qu’à la législation et la réglementation applicables.

L’IRSST prend toutes mesures techniques, contractuelles, administratives et matérielles commercialement raisonnables afin de rigoureusement protéger vos renseignements personnels. Bien qu’il soit impossible de garantir une protection infaillible, l’IRSST fait appel à diverses technologies et procédures de sécurité afin d’assurer la protection de vos renseignements personnels et éviter que ces ceux-ci ne soient consultés, utilisés ou divulgués sans votre autorisation. Par exemple, nous nous efforçons de stocker les renseignements personnels sur des serveurs (que ce soit ceux maintenus par l’IRSST ou par nos fournisseurs) dont l’accès est limité et qui sont situés dans des installations surveillées. De plus, lorsque nous transmettons des informations confidentielles sensibles sur Internet (un numéro de carte de crédit, par exemple), nous nous efforçons de le faire au moyen d’un système de cryptage ou par d’autres moyens techniques permettant le chiffrement de ces informations.

Informations relativement à l’usage du site

Le site peut également recueillir des informations sur votre visite, dont le nom de votre fournisseur d’accès Internet et l’adresse IP utilisés pour accéder à Internet, la date et l’heure d’accès au site, les pages auxquelles vous accédez sur le site et l’URL du site à partir duquel vous êtes arrivé sur notre site. Ces informations sont destinées à l’analyse des tendances et à l’administration et l’amélioration du site. Vous nous autorisez à partager ces statistiques et informations avec des tiers sous réserve du respect des autres dispositions de la présente politique concernant le partage des renseignements personnels.

Vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins (cookies) sur ce site. Un témoin est un petit fichier texte placé sur votre disque dur par un serveur de pages Web. Il ne peut pas être utilisé pour exécuter des programmes ou pour infecter votre ordinateur avec des virus. Les témoins vous sont adressés exclusivement et peuvent être lus uniquement par les serveurs Web appartenant au domaine qui vous a livré le témoin.

L’une des principales fonctions pratiques des témoins est de vous faire gagner du temps. Par exemple, si vous naviguez sur le site, le témoin aidera le site à trouver vos informations spécifiques au cours des visites suivantes. Cela permet, notamment, de simplifier le processus de livraison des contenus et la navigation sur le site. Lorsque vous revenez sur le site, les informations que vous avez fournies auparavant sont réutilisées pour vous permettre d’utiliser plus facilement les fonctions du site.

Vous pouvez accepter ou refuser les témoins. La plupart des navigateurs Web acceptent les témoins automatiquement (et vous convenez qu’une telle acceptation aura le même effet que si vous aviez vous-même accepté les témoins), mais vous pouvez modifier les paramètres de votre navigateur pour leur refuser l’accès à votre ordinateur si vous le souhaitez. Si vous choisissez de refuser les témoins, vous risquez de ne pas pouvoir utiliser complètement les fonctions du  site ou d’autres  sites Web que vous visiterez.

Nous pouvons également utiliser des pixels invisibles (web beacon) pour aider à l’implantation du témoin. Les pixels invisibles ne servent pas à accéder à des renseignements personnels. Les pixels invisibles ne recueillent qu’un ensemble limité de données, notamment un numéro de témoin, et l’heure et la date auxquelles la page a été affichée et une description de la page sur laquelle figure le pixel invisible. Le site peut également comporter des pixels invisibles placés par des fournisseurs de l’IRSST afin d’aider l’IRSST à évaluer et analyser l’efficacité des diverses fonctions du  site.

Dans la mesure maximale permise par les lois applicables, vous dégagez l’IRSST de toute responsabilité en lien avec la présence et l’utilisation de témoins, de pixels visibles et de tout autre marqueur numérique sur le site.

Modifications de la politique

Nous mettons occasionnellement à jour la présente politique. Dans ce cas, nous corrigeons également la date de « dernière mise à jour » en haut de la politique. Nous vous encourageons à consulter régulièrement cette politique afin de rester informé des manières selon lesquelles nous vous aidons à protéger les renseignements personnels que nous recueillons. Veuillez noter que votre utilisation continue du site constitue votre accord quant à cette politique et ses mises à jour.

Contacts

Vos commentaires et questions concernant cette politique sont les bienvenus. Si vous estimez que notre site n’a pas respecté les modalités de cette politique, contactez-nous par voie électronique à l’adresse de messagerie suivante : [email protected] ou par courrier postal à l’adresse se trouvant dans les conditions d’utilisation du site, et nous userons de tous les moyens raisonnables pour rapidement déterminer le problème et y remédier.